The Next Big Thing

I was recently tagged by both Alex Leslie and Darryl Joel Berger in an interview chain called The Next Big Thing. Basically, I answer ten questions about a new writing project I am working on. Then I tag five other writers. I’m tagging people who may or may not participate, but I’ll leave it up to them. I won’t force them. I won’t guilt them into it. I’m too stuffed from the holidays to do much personal manipulation.

The Next Big Thing:

What is the working title of your book?
Buoyancy Control.

Where did the idea for the book come from?
My brain.

What genre does your book fall under?
Poetry.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?
I’d want Lauren Ambrose to play me. Mostly because she has orange hair and is pretty. As for the collection of sea creatures, I’d probably cast all the actors from True Blood.

What is the one-sentence synopsis of your book?
Sea creatures can be sexy too.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?
It will hopefully get picked up by a press at some point, though I did get a very special rejection letter recently from a press that suggested I self-publish. The letter was printed on plain white paper with no official letterhead by someone whose name I didn’t recognize and whom I’m pretty certain didn’t actually read my work.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?
The very first draft was finished three years ago, but it’s gone through so many revisions and changes since then that it doesn’t contain most of the original poems it started out with. So, in reality, the draft I have now is my first draft of the book that Buoyancy Control was meant to be and that was about fourteen drafts later. So, about five years.

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?
Nothing I’ve read so far.

Who or what inspired you to write this book?
The scuba diving I did in the Pacific and Caribbean oceans.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?
The sexual innuendos in the book tend to involve tentacles.

Tagged Writers:

Brecken Hancock
Matthew J. Trafford
Linda Besner
Amy Jones
Jim Johnstone

Leave a Reply

